The Salisbury Review
The Quarterly Journal of the Conservative Anglosphere
'The Salisbury Review publishes
writing on politics, history and
culture that is among the finest
produced in English today.’  The
Independent 2012
Are you discriminating,
intellectual,censorious,
right wing and elitist? Then read...



     Our Bloggers
The Hilarious Pessimist
Theodore Dalrymple
Go to Theodore Dalrymple‘s Blogs
Theodore Dalrymple is a retired prison doctor and psychiatrist. A highly popular journalist, he writes for The Times, The British Medical Journal,The Observer, Daily Telegraph, Spectator, The Salisbury Review and is contributing editor to the City Journal where he is Dietrich Weismann Fellow. His books include, ‘Life at the Bottom’, ‘Our Culture’, What’s Left of It’ ‘Spoilt Rotten: The Toxic Cult of Sentimentality’ ‘The Worldview that Makes the Underclass’. 'Dalrymple's work,' writes Daniel Hannnan, 'takes pessimism about human nature to a new level....once you get past the initial shock of reading about battered wives, petty crooks and junkies from a non-Left perspective, you find humanity and pathos.'
The Hilarious Pessimist
Theodore Dalrymple
On my
Uppers: The Blog of
Jane Kelly


Go to Jane Kelly‘s Blogs
Jane Kelly worked for the Daily
Mail for 15 years as a leading
celebrity interviewer. Among her
subjects were; Hilary Clinton, Jack
Nicholson, Russel Crowe, George
Clooney, Michael Portillo, Tony
Benn, Jeffrey Archer, Edwina Curry,
Scarlett Johansson, Arthur Scargill,
Vanessa Redgrave and Elizabeth
Taylor. She has written two books; a
biography of Colin Farrell, and
‘Inside’ an account of working as a
teacher in Wormwood Scrubs
Prison, London.

These acerbic, direct, and often
funny blogs, reflect Jane’s clear
eyed view of our silly, sentimental,
shopping obsessed, left wing society
as it stumbles toward self
annihilation.
Click to download to computer
Click for iPad or Kindle
$15 or £12 a year
Twitter
Islam: The West Mounts the Scaffold
Daily Mail Right Minds
Down under with Daryl
Cranmer
Cosmoline
The American Spectator
Write for us?

If you would like to write for us please contact the editor. We reserve the right to edit submissions



Recommended
Right Wing News
Mark Steyn
Peter Oborne
The Week
BBC Bias
Double click to edit
Articles from our Summer Edition June 2014
Click here for more

Taking the Brighton Line
Sam Aldred

Is this the most toe curlingly politically correct town in the country?

Last August it was widely reported that Brighton had been named ‘the UK’s worst seaside resort’ by a reputable travel website.  read
Multicultural Musical Chairs
Ricardo Duchesne

Who are today's racial extremists?

Contrary to what academic elites, government officials, and the mainstream media tell us, immigrant multiculturalism is one of the most extreme ideological policies ever devised....read
click on picture
click on picture
click on picture
Editorial

With the exception of North Korea, and Japan, which relies on active racialism to stop immigration, jet travel and the internet have killed the nation state...read
Summer Edition June 2014


The Salisbury Review Blogs
2nd of August Jane Kelly 'Um-uming in the Umma'

Coming home from a private view on Tuesday, 22/7/14 that delicious need for fast-food overtook me and I entered the small Chinese restaurant near my home. I have been going there for years, I really liked it although the food is not exactly choice, and always the same. Sometime in the early morning
It 's laid out in the window, on a self-service basis, eat as much as you like for £5. If you go later in the day it looks rather the worse for wear. It was late on Tuesday, but I didn't care.


11th of August 2014. Jane Kelly. 'What is Farmer Giles' tractor doing ploughing a Nigerian marijuana field?'

Whenever I hear a BBC discussion programme and the issue of immigration comes up, every view expressed is prefigured by the unchanging mantra that immigration has in the main been excellent for the economy, for our culture and our country has benefited greatly from the mass influx of plutocrats and urban peasants from all over the globe. Even columnist Rod Liddel took up this refrain in Any Questions on Radio 4 last week.
13th August 2014. Theodore Dalrymple. Was Kafka troubled by his prostate?

To adapt slightly the opening sentence of Kafka’s The Trial, someone must have been talking about me. I know this from all the advertisements and offers I receive unsolicited through the internet.  Today came yet another offer of supposedly cheap burial insurance and then an e-mail suggesting that I should ‘Say hello to living confidently.’ At first sight, these two advertisements seem contradictory, but it turned out that the contradiction could be resolved. Living confidently referred to my bladder control.

15th August 2014. Jane Kelly on 'Moaning Lisa'

The news that the National Gallery is to relax its rule on photography made my heart sink. One of their pundits on R4 said they had done this because the public pay for the gallery out of their taxation and they are entitled to used the premises as they wish. Of course most of the people standing in massed ranks in front of the greatest paintings will be Japanese and Korean, not locals who probably go to the National Gallery less often than they go to church.

15th of August 2014. Theodore Dalrymple. Britain's overloaded ark

The French newspapers of late have reported clashes in Calais between different nationalities of ‘refugees’ camping there, preparatory to illegal entry into Britain. The French offer them advice as to how to claim asylum in France, but they are not interested in doing so. They want to get to England, their ‘promised land,’ according to the newspapers.
15th of August 2014. Gabriel Hershman.
Black Sea Blog

I got the Seven year Itch recently. That's how long I've been in Bulgaria. We've just had a nightmarish seaside holiday in Primorsko, just south of Burgas. Black Sea ushered in Black Mood. One evening last week, shortly after our return, I cracked and ran screaming towards my British passport rather like a baby grabbing his bottle. I even took it to bed with me and slept with it under my pillow. Suddenly I longed for the best of British.


August 19th. Jane Kelly. The Sword of the Prophet

All my life I've had premonitions, all of them unpleasant of course, but undeniable when they happen.In 1979 I was in the Kmpik building in the centre of Katowice in southern Poland, where I worked, reading the foreign newspapers, or all the ones that Kmpik put out on display. This was usually The Guardian and the Daily Mirror, but sometimes also Time and Newsweek.
Monday the 25th of August Jane Kelly: Syria, A New Thirty Years War

Way back in the mists of history, February 2012, during the siege of Homs in Syria, just before reporter Marie Colvin was killed, I remember a report she sent to the BBC. She was in a cellar of some kind, under bombardment. In front of her lay a baby, quite a large healthy child about 18  months old. We watched while his little rib-cage heaved and stretched as he slowly died from a shrapnel wound.
25th of August, Theodore Dalrymple. ‘Are newspapers only fit to wrap your fish and chips in ?

It is said that after the age of about forty the great Norwegian playwright, Henrik Ibsen, read nothing except the Bible and newspapers. These days, alas, newspapers play an ever smaller role in the cultural role of any country. I don’t know a single young person who reads, let alone takes, a newspaper regularly.
25th of August. Gabriel Hershman. Are we heading for Fahrenheit 451?

Our language is constantly being debased in ways I hate. A "notebook" is apparently a small laptop, not a little exercise book on which to scribble thoughts. A "tablet" is yet another screened device, not a pill that you put into your mouth. I noticed the other day that a plane I was riding on at 35,000 feet was referred to as an "airbus" - as if it were London's number 11 bus that just happened to be floating among the clouds. Another time I heard a plane described as a "minibus".