The Salisbury Review
The Quarterly Journal of the Conservative Anglosphere
'The Salisbury Review publishes
writing on politics, history and
culture that is among the finest
produced in English today.’  The
Independent 2012
Are you discriminating,
intellectual,censorious,
right wing and elitist? Then read...



     Our Bloggers
The Hilarious Pessimist
Theodore Dalrymple
Go to Theodore Dalrymple‘s Blogs
Theodore Dalrymple is a retired prison doctor and psychiatrist. A highly popular journalist, he writes for The Times, The British Medical Journal,The Observer, Daily Telegraph, Spectator, The Salisbury Review and is contributing editor to the City Journal where he is Dietrich Weismann Fellow. His books include, ‘Life at the Bottom’, ‘Our Culture’, What’s Left of It’ ‘Spoilt Rotten: The Toxic Cult of Sentimentality’ ‘The Worldview that Makes the Underclass’. 'Dalrymple's work,' writes Daniel Hannnan, 'takes pessimism about human nature to a new level....once you get past the initial shock of reading about battered wives, petty crooks and junkies from a non-Left perspective, you find humanity and pathos.'
The Hilarious Pessimist
Theodore Dalrymple
On my
Uppers: The Blog of
Jane Kelly


Go to Jane Kelly‘s Blogs
Jane Kelly worked for the Daily
Mail for 15 years as a leading
celebrity interviewer. Among her
subjects were; Hilary Clinton, Jack
Nicholson, Russel Crowe, George
Clooney, Michael Portillo, Tony
Benn, Jeffrey Archer, Edwina Curry,
Scarlett Johansson, Arthur Scargill,
Vanessa Redgrave and Elizabeth
Taylor. She has written two books; a
biography of Colin Farrell, and
‘Inside’ an account of working as a
teacher in Wormwood Scrubs
Prison, London.

These acerbic, direct, and often
funny blogs, reflect Jane’s clear
eyed view of our silly, sentimental,
shopping obsessed, left wing society
as it stumbles toward self
annihilation.
Click to download to computer
Click for iPad or Kindle
$15 or £12 a year
Twitter
Islam: The West Mounts the Scaffold
Daily Mail Right Minds
Down under with Daryl
Cranmer
Cosmoline
The American Spectator
Write for us?

If you would like to write for us please contact the editor. We reserve the right to edit submissions



Recommended
Right Wing News
Mark Steyn
Peter Oborne
The Week
BBC Bias
11th of June. Jane Kelly on the apology of the Metropolitan Police Commissioner for the death of Cherry Groce. “Thank you Sir Bernard but haven't you forgotten somebody ?”

June 15th 1381 innocent bystander Wat Tyler killed during a raid on his hovel by officers of the king, although he was no longer considered a threat. Obviously the raid should have been called off and his death was due to complete incompetence on behalf of the forces of law and order at the time. Some of us, his descendants and all right thinking people, and those with constituents around the Southwark area, are still awaiting an apology!

The Apology
Double click to edit
Articles from our Summer Edition June 2014
Click here for more

Taking the Brighton Line
Sam Aldred

Is this the most toe curlingly politically correct town in the country?

Last August it was widely reported that Brighton had been named ‘the UK’s worst seaside resort’ by a reputable travel website.  read
Multicultural Musical Chairs
Ricardo Duchesne

Who are today's racial extremists?

Contrary to what academic elites, government officials, and the mainstream media tell us, immigrant multiculturalism is one of the most extreme ideological policies ever devised....read
click on picture
click on picture
click on picture
Editorial

With the exception of North Korea, and Japan, which relies on active racialism to stop immigration, jet travel and the internet have killed the nation state...read
Summer Edition June 2014

29th of June Jane Kelly. How Socialism Destroyed Working Class Children

A rather dull programme about Prince Charles, on Radio 4, 29th June, 2014, did make one very disturbing revelation. When David Blunkett was Labour Party secretary of state for education, he was in touch with the prince who wanted the government to increase the number of grammar schools.


5th of July. Theodore Dalymple. Is football pornography by other means?

It isn't been easy to avoid the World Cup, impossible if one takes the newspapers. Nor has the competition been entirely without interest: for example, how and why does a man like Luis Suarez become a serial biter of his opponents? Why does he not learn to keep his teeth to himself?
4th July Theodore Dalrymple. 125% of all French school children will soon pass their baccalauréat

One of the advantages of living in two countries - in my case Britain and France - is the realisation that modern madness is international. This, of course, is a great consolation for any patriot who sees his own country sliding ever further down the slope of institutionalised idiocy.
Sunday the 23rd June. Jane Kelly watches our middle class doing the cultural cringe before Islam

When I was a student in the 'cold war' the west had somehow lost the ideological battle. While the people on the eastern side of the Berlin wall were fretting about their lack of freedom, privileged kids like my friends and me considered that they were highly lucky to live under the Soviet yoke.
The Salisbury Review Blogs
11th July. Theodore Dalrymple. Sir Bert the political pygmy

Researching an article about Mr Huhne recently, I was struck by how many public figures now use diminutives of their names. There have always been a few who have done so, of course, but now it is a mass phenomenon, like drunkenness in public. Chris himself does so.
12th July. Jane Kelly. Judicial Savagery

I wonder how many comedians from the 1970s are still walking about free? In this newly censorious world in which we live, I think somewhere circa 1700, I am awed by the behaviour of the judiciary. They tend to let dangerous criminals go to open prison, refuse to deport convicted terrorists and illegal immigrants, give tiny sentences to drunken drivers who kill children and vandals who cut the heads off swans, but get out the black cap for old men who, eons ago in an age of sexual license, had what we in those distant times called WHT, or 'wandering hand trouble.'
17th July Theodore Dalrymple. Tattoing and the World Cup

Although football is hardly the American national sport, the New York Times ran more than one article about the German victory in the World Cup, with links to sites that explained the part that advanced technology had played in it. For example, physiological monitoring of the players in training allowed the manager to select those to play who were at the peak of their fitness. The German team also had a specially built training camp that was exactly calculated to its needs. There the players could enjoy both privacy and a social life to encourage team spirit. But all of this, it seems to me, is beside the point.....
2nd of August Jane Kelly 'Um-uming in the Umma'

Coming home from a private view on Tuesday, 22/7/14 that delicious need for fast-food overtook me and I entered the small Chinese restaurant near my home. I have been going there for years, I really liked it although the food is not exactly choice, and always the same. Sometime in the early morning
It 's laid out in the window, on a self-service basis, eat as much as you like for £5. If you go later in the day it looks rather the worse for wear. It was late on Tuesday, but I didn't care.
27th of July. Theodore Dalrymple. What's wrong with good old Pierrepoint's Drop ?

For most people a good execution is a contradiction in terms, but this does not mean that bad execution is a contradiction in terms. And the execution in Arizona of Joseph R. Wood III was very bad indeed: it took his executioners two hours to kill him. By comparison, that of Clayton Lockett in Oklahoma was a technical success: it took only forty-three minutes for him to die.
27th July  2014. Jane Kelly ,'Obfuscation among the Onions'

I attended my local Homebase in Acton yesterday to buy a bell-pepper. They have a very large garden centre attached to the shop which used to be manned by one elderly man from the Balkans without a word of English.
This week I was in luck, it was a young English lad, albeit with a bad speech impediment.
2nd August 2014, Theodore Dalrymple. 'Tell the truth but tell it slant.'

Success in indirection lies, wrote Emily Dickinson, but I think our age responds more to the explicit than to the implicit, at least in literature. Recently, for example, I read of the discovery and sale of the manuscript of Siegfried Sassoon's anti-war poem Atrocities, published in 1919, in which Sassoon denounced the atrocities committed on the British side during the First World War. It is, of course, an extremely powerful poem, and must have come as a profound shock to those who had thought the war was justified, morally, by the Belgian atrocities supposedly committed by the Germans.







11th of August 2014. Jane Kelly. 'What is Farmer Giles' tractor doing ploughing a Nigerian marijuana field?'

Whenever I hear a BBC discussion programme and the issue of immigration comes up, every view expressed is prefigured by the unchanging mantra that immigration has in the main been excellent for the economy, for our culture and our country has benefited greatly from the mass influx of plutocrats and urban peasants from all over the globe. Even columnist Rod Liddel took up this refrain in Any Questions on Radio 4 last week.
13th August 2014. Theodore Dalrymple. Was Kafka troubled by his prostate?

To adapt slightly the opening sentence of Kafka’s The Trial, someone must have been talking about me. I know this from all the advertisements and offers I receive unsolicited through the internet.  Today came yet another offer of supposedly cheap burial insurance and then an e-mail suggesting that I should ‘Say hello to living confidently.’ At first sight, these two advertisements seem contradictory, but it turned out that the contradiction could be resolved. Living confidently referred to my bladder control.






15th August 2014. Jane Kelly on 'Moaning Lisa'

The news that the National Gallery is to relax its rule on photography made my heart sink. One of their pundits on R4 said they had done this because the public pay for the gallery out of their taxation and they are entitled to used the premises as they wish. Of course most of the people standing in massed ranks in front of the greatest paintings will be Japanese and Korean, not locals who probably go to the National Gallery less often than they go to church.

15th of August 2014. Theodore Dalrymple. Britain's overloaded ark

The French newspapers of late have reported clashes in Calais between different nationalities of ‘refugees’ camping there, preparatory to illegal entry into Britain. The French offer them advice as to how to claim asylum in France, but they are not interested in doing so. They want to get to England, their ‘promised land,’ according to the newspapers.
15th of August 2014. Gabriel Hershman.
Black Sea Blog

I got the Seven year Itch recently. That's how long I've been in Bulgaria. We've just had a nightmarish seaside holiday in Primorsko, just south of Burgas. Black Sea ushered in Black Mood. One evening last week, shortly after our return, I cracked and ran screaming towards my British passport rather like a baby grabbing his bottle. I even took it to bed with me and slept with it under my pillow. Suddenly I longed for the best of British.


August 19th. Jane Kelly. The Sword of the Prophet

All my life I've had premonitions, all of them unpleasant of course, but undeniable when they happen.In 1979 I was in the Kmpik building in the centre of Katowice in southern Poland, where I worked, reading the foreign newspapers, or all the ones that Kmpik put out on display. This was usually The Guardian and the Daily Mirror, but sometimes also Time and Newsweek.